The Story of Me

For those that may have accidentally landed on my page, I thank you. This may not have been the profile you were searching for initially, but I can promise that my outspoken content can at times be an enthralling read.

I was born in Philadelphia, and grew up in South Jersey (Yes, North and South Jersey should be two distinct states).

I do not have the best memories of childhood being that my birth became more or less a regret rather than a celebration, but was blessed with being born left-handed and being in love with Sylvester Stallone, so for now will skip to the year of 2005.

In 2005, I was at a pretty desperate point in my life. I was drowning in debt and could hardly afford my 1 bedroom apartment in Cherry Hill. I was working as an Office Manager / IT Technician / Benefits Adminstrator at a Mortgage company. I had no pride those days, if a colleague wanted to take me out to lunch I would gladly accept. When that did not occur in lieu of leftovers for dinner, my meals consisted of condiments.

I decided I needed to move out of state. New Jersey is not exactly a living comfort, especially when factoring in car insurance and taxes. So I decided to start my search. I wanted to continue to live on the east coast, for no other reason than being close enough to drive to Philadelphia. If you hadn’t already guessed my teams are the: Eagles, Flyers, Sixers, and Phillies. Being able to frequent my religion of the illustrious chain of convenience stations: Wawa would also be an added benefit.

I brought up a map of the United States, closed my eyes and pointed. My finger landed on Raleigh, North Carolina.

This is how I decided where I would live. Most likely crazy, but a true story nonetheless. Unfortunately I found out after I moved, that Wawa did not exist in North Carolina.

April of 2005 I drove to Raleigh looking for an apartment. I had no idea of the area when booking my hotel room but decided that the area of “Crabtree” sounded safe and quaint. I stayed at the La Quinta, which had a leaky roof, and began my apartment search.

I viewed a few properties and then decided on one right off of Capital Boulevard. I learned, after the fact, that this is a very busy, “grit-your-teeth” type of highway. My application was approved and I was ready to move.

Two months later, June 20, 2005 to be exact, I packed up my belongings. This consisted of two trash bags of clothes, a microwave, and a laptop. I stopped at the Wawa in Cherry Hill at 3:30 AM to get a coffee and was on my way. Driving solo, with my favorite music, no friends or family to say good-bye to or greet me when I would arrive.

Other than the horror of having to pump my own gas, I still will never get over this inconvenience, I arrived safe and sound in my state. I signed my lease, unpacked my car, and started looking for a job.

Oh, I didn’t mention that small detail, I moved without having an employer. Being my checking and savings account were practically non-existent after making my deposit on my apartment, I could tell you the anxiety I was feeling was quite intense.

I will never forget, walking into the Target down the street, and pacing the food aisles wishing I could afford a proper meal. My eyes would often catch the happy families near me and I would feel a pang of remorse as well as hunger in the pit of my stomach.

I slept on my apartment floor for about a month. Everyday applying to jobs on CareerBuilder and Monster. A call finally came in for an interview. It was a job I applied to while I still lived in New Jersey. I wrote down the address and looked up the directions via MapQuest.

It was in the not-so-great section of Durham, and I remember getting lost. I was slightly late to my interview, but miraculously ended up with a job offer.

I was to be the IT Administrator of a small collection company, when I did not have any work to do that involved Technology, I would call patients of local hospitals demanding payment of extremely past due invoices.

This was not a great place to work, especially due to the fact the employees were all close-knit, and I was an outsider from “up north” that had a weird accent.

But without this job I would have decidedly ended up homeless. I would never have been able to afford an air mattress, some decent meals, and later on a television.

This is the story of me.

--

--

--

Originally from Philadelphia, I have a Rocky Balboa mentality. Product Manager & DEI Advocate by day / Community Manager & Graduate student by night.

Love podcasts or audiobooks? Learn on the go with our new app.

Recommended from Medium

What’s Really Expected of You at 18, 22, and 30

What is actually required for Success?

Author Mylitta Butler: How to Learn to Finally Love Yourself

Analogy: Weed in the Cornfield

The Narnia Hike.

Stop Feeling Guilty — You’re Not Lazy, You’re Not Unmotivated and There’s Nothing ‘Wrong’ With You

How I lived post my kidney transplant

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store
Eva Beasley

Eva Beasley

Originally from Philadelphia, I have a Rocky Balboa mentality. Product Manager & DEI Advocate by day / Community Manager & Graduate student by night.

More from Medium

The Other Side Of Life

The One Time I Asked my Friend For a Lift and Left my Soul in an Arcade Car Park

This is sad…

Why You Should Always Focus On The Positive?